In the middle of the night…

You can be your most creative self, providing you have numerous cups of coffee and your cigarettes. Those are very necessary requisites. I wouldn’t know what to do without them. I don’t think I would be able to think straight if I didn’t have them at hand. Of course, that’s because of the physical dependency on these substances and if I tried very hard, I could possibly do without them. I would have to move to a deserted island, though, and be forsaken of them. Maybe my brain would then learn how to be creative all on its own without stimulants.

I’m not to the point yet where I’m ready to quit. I’m too much of a coward and unwilling to go through the horrors of withdrawal symptoms. I’ve tried that before and it wasn’t pretty. I have to find a good way of quitting first before I’ll try it again. I do think about it regularly and I know I’m going to try to quit again. But I want to do it right and not make a halfhearted attempt.

How’s that for a confession? It helps to be up in the middle of the night to think clearly. At least in my case it does. I’m always most clear when everybody else is asleep. It’s when I’m most able to formulate my thoughts, or so I tell myself. It’s very possible that I’m capable of this during the day also, but just don’t try it. Actually, I think I do okay after I’ve taken my afternoon nap. Maybe I’m most able after I’ve slept for a while like I have now.

I’m sitting here in my warm gray cardigan with my socks on. I decided that I was a little cold. I do have the bedroom windows open and it’s a little chilly outside, but I like it. The cold air feels good. I would like for it to rain now and I would love to hear the sound of a good rain storm, but we have not been so fortunate. No rain has fallen, even though it was promised. Everything is just as dry as it was.

Yesterday was an alright sort of day. Because it was Friday, I enjoyed it simply for the day it was. The day before the weekend. The domestic help came and cleaned the apartment and was done in the shortest amount of time, leaving me lots of of time and space to myself to enjoy it. The Exfactor also came by briefly for a cup of coffee and brought washing powder and cat food from the store he shops at. They are good brands that are cheaper than what we can get at my supermarket. You have to make every penny count.

The laundry is drying in the bathroom, making the whole apartment smell good. I didn’t want to hang it outside because of the promised rain. I put clean sheets on the bed again and enjoyed going to sleep between them last night. It’s always a pleasure to sleep between freshly laundered sheets. I just wish I could manage to stay asleep between them and not have the urge to get up in the middle of the night. At least I do know that I have enough duvet covers. There’s no shortage of them and now that I’ve got a new thicker pillow on my bed, I no longer need four pillow cases all at once for all the pillows.

My sister is in Italy this weekend, so I won’t be going over there on Sunday. It won’t be nice enough weather to sit in the garden anyway. I have to amuse myself some other way these coming days. Doubtlessly I’ll manage that. There’s always the dog to take for long walks and to check out other people’s gardens.

I think I will get myself back to bed now. It is early in the morning and time to sleep some more. It will be with much joy that I crawl under the duvet again.

Have a good weekend.

Ciao,

Nora

3 Comments»

  Lisa wrote @

Welcome back to wordpress Irene! You sound happy and well, that I am pleased about!

  twain12 wrote @

have a good night…still rainy here too. Had to rescue some laundry from the rain yesterday after i was lulled into false sense of nice weather LOL

  MaggieMay wrote @

Its really cold, wet and windy here.
The farmers will be pleased. So will the slugs/snails!
Have a good night.
Maggie X

Nuts in May


Leave a comment